Learn About The Ladder

The Ladder is a great organizational tool—think of it as the “blueprint” for your yearbook. Access the Ladder from the Dashboard. 

Ladder Sections (A) appears at the top of the Ladder Panel. The first time you log in, all pages are uncategorized. Sections are a way to organize the yearbook into categories that make sense for you. 

The area below Ladder Sections, referred to as the quick navigation panel (B), includes the cover, endsheets or inside cover (if applicable) and pages of your project. If you create practice areas for your project, they appear here as well. Users can quickly jump to any page of the book from this area. If sections have been created, the page box will appear in that section’s specific color. Click here for further details on creating sections. 

Now, let’s review the icons within the Ladder menu bar at the top of the screen. 

A: Sort allows you to view select pages. Sort options include by assigned users/groups, by page status, or by sections. 

B: Add Pages allows you to increase page count or add practice pages to the project. Choose the type of page from the dropdown menu, enter a quantity and indicate where you want to position the new pages. Click the Add button to finish.

C: Usage & Tracking displays the cover and endsheets (if applicable) as well as each page of your project. To the right of each page, Pictavo logs the number of times a user accesses that page. Click the page to view which user(s) accessed it, time of last save, time of login, as well as total elapsed time spent working on it. Click Export Report to download a full usage report. 

D: Assign pages to users through the Assign Users function. Check the box to the left of the user name and click Next

A window opens prompting you to select the page(s) you’d like to assign the user. Click Save, then click OK to dismiss the confirmation message. 

 

E: Share & PDF provides various methods for sharing pages with other staff members—especially useful when it comes to proofing the project. 

First, choose which items you’d like to share, the resolution of the file(s) and then click Next

Choose the share method and click Save or Send, depending on how you choose to share. Discover more about sharing in this article

F: The Zoom feature allows you to adjust the size of the page preview. 

Smallest Zoom Setting

Enlarged Zoom Setting

G: Full Screen Preview allows you to flip through the pages of your book using the arrows on the left and right sides or below. From this preview, you can also Share & PDF. Click the X in the upper right corner to exit. 

H: The pages of your project can be displayed in either Page View or Ladder View. The main difference being, when in Ladder View, details about the page are visible such as: user(s) assigned to the page, section, description and name, and time and date of the person who last edited.  

Page View:

Ladder View:

TIP: When in Ladder View, the Assign Users icon appears next
to each page as a convenient way to assign it to a user or group. 

Also, when in Page or Ladder View, if a wristwatch icon appears in
the lower left of the page it signifies a new thumbnail is being generated. 

I: Submit Your Project is the last icon in the Ladder menu, and the final step of the overall yearbook creation process. After clicking this icon, depending on the status of your book, one of two messages will display. 

A red message window indicates you need to approve the cover, endsheets (if applicable) and pages. This will adjust the status from in progress to approved. 

A blue message window displays if the cover, endsheets (if applicable) and pages have been approved and are able to be submitted. Click here for instructions on submitting your project. 

Within the Ladder, the cover, endsheets (if applicable) and pages are identified by a color to indicate which stage of development they are in: not started, in progress, ready for approval, approved and rejected. The color status indicator appears as a dot next to the page number in Page View, and a vertical bar in Ladder View

Additional functionality (set of icons) is available within the Ladder when the cover or a single page/spread is selected.
Note: these icons only appear when just the cover or one page/spread is selected at a time. 

A: Edit takes you out of the Ladder and into the design space for the page selected. First select the page, then click the Edit icon. 
Note: You can also double-click on the page, or cover, from within the Ladder to open it in the design space. 

B: Usage & Tracking displays, for the page selected, which user(s) accessed it, time of last save, time of login, as well as time spent working on it. 

C: The Move icon opens Pictavo’s Move Pages window. Select the location, either before or after, and specify where it should be moved: at the beginning (first), at the end (last) or select “page” to enter a specific page number. Click OK to finish. You can find more details about moving pages here

D: Reject and Approve are functions in which a Project Admin only can perform. 

A user must first indicate a page(s)/spread(s) is ready for review so it can be rejected or approved by the Project Admin. The user selects the page(s)/spread(s), a blue frame appears including a check box in the lower right corner, then clicks the Ready for Approval icon. 

Pictavo displays a confirmation window alerting the user this action cannot be undone. Click Yes

To Approve or Reject the page, the Project Admin selects the page(s) and clicks the appropriate icon (thumbs down for Reject) or (thumbs up for Approve.) The status of the page changes based on which action is taken. 

E: Pictavo offers the ability to make pages private by selecting the Make Private icon. Pages identified as Private can only be viewed by Project Admins. The images below identify what is visible to the Project Admin and what users see when the page is private. 

Page Thumbnail for Project Admins

Page Thumbnail for Users

F: Pages or spreads may be deleted. Select the specific page(s) and click the Delete icon. To avoid accidentally deleting a page, Pictavo issues a warning message to confirm the decision. Click OK. This process may take a few minutes due to the ladder adjusting the order of pages.